The Lights From The Chemical Plant

Release Date: 
February 11, 2014
New West Records
Release Type: 
  1. TV Song
  2. Chemical Plant
  3. Good Intentions
  4. Steady As The Rising Sun
  5. Bottle Of Wine
  6. Still Crazy After All These Years
  7. Pride
  8. Only Lies
  9. Houston
  10. Sing Along
  11. Tour Song

Produced by Jacquire King (Tom Waits, Kings Of Leon), Robert Ellis’ 2nd album, The Lights From The Chemical Plant, continues his journey into folk music he began 3 years ago. The songs on the new record, which range from the majestic string-adorned title track to noir pop rock and somber confessionals, both show Ellis’ growth and the various sides of this multidimensional songwriter. Ellis recently told Rolling Stone The Lights From The Chemical Plant is “stylistically ambiguous,” as he is inspired by a wide variety of artists. “On this record I was trying to channel everything from Paul Simon, Randy Newman and Bill Withers, to free jazz artists like Ornette Coleman,” Ellis explained.